top of page

Disciples of Belakor podium at Fire and Dice RTT

The recent data slate update didn't make me happy as a Chaos, and predominantly a CSM fan. First impressions ranged from a eh, fair enough when looking at the Bile nerf, mild indifference when looking at the points rises to Abaddon (all the ouch) and terminators given I rarely ran them and preferred other units and a monumental WTF when realising Armour of Contempt was going away in combination with the above. Whilst CSM may not be dead yet, for a faction that had barely got to 50%-win rate it felt very heavy handed and a complete lack of understanding about the faction - if there slow, and not resilient. It's a shame that all the lists I can think of go back to the 8th edition model of either 'chuck a million buffs on a unit to make it good' or run CSM units that don't have power armour/have a daemon save like Cultists and Possessed (having run a few Accursed Cultists hordes can confirm they are good) but in a meta that's likely to revolve around targeting Loyalist Marines power armour that's likely better priced than the Chaos alternatives it feels like we are back in the dark times for the actual SM part of CSM.

Two Chaos demigods clash in a titanic battle.

Rather than sit and be bitter about it for too long (which to be fair would be an apt and fluffy response) I decided to give the Daemon codex a proper run out. I'd dabbled with a few times mostly as allies. The 3 big daemons + flamers build hadn't really been appealing to me and the nerfs/buffs pushing daemons in a different direction really helped enthuse me to the faction. I pretty quickly settled on Disciples of Belakor army of Renown for a couple of reasons:

I didn't want multiple big daemons so the restrictions here weren't too bad, and I wanted to experiment with most of the units so taking a variety of god units were always in the plan so a few extra strats was essentially free upside.

Belakor is an awesome I haven't got to use much.

Morale Jank

Walking Knights and Chariots through walls and units is amazing game changing ability and conceptually incredible.

List I came up with for the RTT:

So, the list is still very much in the 'experimenting to see what's good/what fits my playstyle' which you may be able to guess from the fact that I haven't doubled up on any unit choice. The basic logic was to have two units that could brawl midfield (Fiends, ideally with 5+FNP from the Tormentbringer) and Beasts of Nurgle. Have a few units that were fast/forward deploy with the Exalted Chariot/Flamers/Nurglings to threaten flanks. Skull Cannon for some chip damage from the backfield, with Knights as a second wave to come in after softening things up with Belakor and Changecaster providing some casting support and in Belakor's case a massive target with a huge sword was always nice. A single squad of Bloodletters to try and force opponent to over screen backfield and give me a chance to take their home objective if they didn't. Given I didn't have many infantry options I took two spells on Belakor to help try and control fight phase with the plan that he and the Tormentbrigner could easily double up on casting Warp Ritual if needed as a secondary.

The tournament itself was a 14 player RTT hosted at Tabletop Republic which was a really awesome venue. The tournament was run by Sid and was an internal tournament for the Fire and Dice team of which has been running for about 6 months now. Given I was new to my army and still learning lots of things (I'd only had one test game with the list and had only used many of the units like the Knights once and trying to learn two armies worth of strats and timings at once was a bit daunting) and was up against some excellent players I was hoping a for a nice honourable 2-1 and to get some nice learnings about the list


Game 1 - Abandoned Sanctuaries v Paul

(Format got messed up and ended up being copied in twice, short version of it is all the Ork boyz, loads of Gretchin and Ghaz supported by big Killa Kan unit and Wierdboy to teleport units around.)

My Secondaries: Reality rebels, No Prisoners, Warp Ritual

Opponents Secondaries: Stomp Em Good, Green Tide, Get da Good Bitz

Pregame thoughts - Up against a wall of bodies here which created a real issue test of my number of attacks and lack of model/obsec to contest objectives. Thankfully Orks are one of the few armies were the sheer quantity of leadership and attrition modifiers DoB army matter and there was conceivably a scenario where I could kill 2/3 orks from a unit and watch over half of it run away in terror. Ghaz was going to be key given he allowed Orks to ignore combat attrition and was a unit that could take out any daemon unit I had with a good roll including Belakor - I did have ways to damage Ghaz in multiple phases including potentially in the morale (Roll 2d6 v his leadership as a Dread test from the Knights and mortal for each failed.) Given how tough it was going to be at the start to contest 3 objectives in the middle, and how little I wanted to allow orks early charges I went as passive as possible with secondaries with the aim of whittling the orks down early on and trying to counterattack turns in the middle/late game.

Chaos deployment - Orks don't have many shooting threats so Knights can be in open in best place to try and mow down orks whilst I give up the left flank softly.
Side shot of ork deployment, waves upon waves of bodies. Bloodletters reserve on my side, Killa Kans for Orks.
Orks end up winning turn one. I'm positioned mostly to counter attack outside of Knights shooting so happy with this.
Orks charge forward into the middle but elect not to Waaagh!
Chaos move up in response, Fiends prepare to take out Kommandos on far right of shot, Beasts to take the middle whilst Flamers are positioned to ensure Ghaz can't charge into Belakor before I can soften Ghaz up.
Left flank only has two units to ensure Despoilers, Gretchin have teleported across but have to be ignored giving the huge amount of bodies coming my way.

Chaos turn 1 is excellent as a sea of Ork bodies are removed, Orks get a early 8 points and I have to stay back out of Warp Ritual range
Orks call in a Waaagh and prepare to crash into Chaos lines.
Orks lost somewere in the region of 50 bodies turn one, but still have plenty left and Ghaz is untouched.
Second wave of green tide comes in hard on the centre. Flamers get destroyed by the boyz in combat but with multiple ongoing combats I can interrupt with the Beasts in the middle. One manages to phase cap Ghaz, but despite full re-rolls they rather whiff into the Boyz when I get greedy looking for 6's.
Blurry pic - Orks send another wave of Boyz into the chariot and take it out whilst the Skull Cannon watches on.
Killa Kans arrive in a puff of smoke, but there shooting, mostly into Belakor does nothing.
Sadly the same couldn't be said of there combat as they start to butcher there way through the fiends despite there 5+ FNP.
Kommando's teleport accross the battle to threaten the backfield.
Going into my turn 2. Leadership lowering Warpstorm comes out and Bloodletters can teleport in close to try and stablise in the left flank after Orks have reduced me to a 4 on primary.
Ghaz is hiding behind Belakor's wings. I plan to throw every bit of shooting and magic possible into him and kill him in combat. When I only manage 2 wounds my plans have to change quickly.

Korvax knight walks through the walls in a awesomely cinematic moment to start to take out the Kommandos.
Nob clings to lift, but Chaos retake the left flank.
Chaos rather whiff here - two Knights manage to retake the objective on the right but Orks invuls really limit there damage, Belakor charges the Boyz instead of Ghaz (and flies outside of HI range)can't take out enough Boyz to retake the objective - they interupt and kill my Tormentbringer. Ghaz moved up to take his choice of plunder next turn unopposed.
Chaos leadership Shenigans at least for a few Kommado's to flee, but they start to win the fight against the Knight on the right, with Killa Khans free its suddenly gotten scary.
Runtherder comes in on the left and combined with the Nob does some real damage to the Bloodletters, but they hold the objective.
Orks second Waagh turn makes them much more vulnerable, the Knight on the left free itself from Combat and managed to hold onto the objective despite the Killa Kans destroying its friend, the Golden one on the right realises its in big trouble v the Kommando's and falls back to ensure they can't get a easy kill in my turn.
Whilst Ghaz runs rampent, a combination of Skull cannon and Smite gets him to his final bracket, and Belakor can remove the Warboss and his Gretchin friend in a single turn as Chaos emerge truimphant in the middle.

More gretchin teleport accross to keep Orcs secondaries ticking over, but they are running out of units to take on the tougher Chaos models at this point.
Skip a turn in the pictures - Killa Kans finish off the Knight but Belakor takes them out before returning to the middle for some extra primary. Orks technically have more bodies on the table than Daemons, but nothing of threat anymore.

Final result - 95 - 63 Win for Daemons.


Postgame thoughts: So, things started off really well and going into turn 2 I was hopefully this could end up being a destruction of the orks early, but it was a hugely missed opportunity of a turn as the orks slowed and threatened to turn the momentum around. The Waaaaagh invul made more difference than I gave credit for, and the Knights got bogged up in fights they slowly lost as the Killa Khans started to chew up my right flank as my attack on Ghaz and the centre whiffed hard. Orks took a scary early lead on primary and whilst I was expecting that for a while, I'd hoped to run them out of units better than I did. Thankfully Get da good bitz didn't end up being an option for them with Orks scoring 0 points all game on it thanks the two maelstrom of death around the objectives giving the Gretchin no chances to get on so I was about equal on score until the Orks did finally run out of bodies as Belakor finished the battle unopposed in the centre.

Game 2 v Sid, Data Scry-Salvage


My Secondaries: Reality Rebels, Bring them Down, Banners

Opponents Secondaries: Yield no Ground, Honour the House, Bring it Down.

Pregame thoughts: So being a tournament for our team there was a discussion beforehand about using it as a chance to try out new things for Arks of Omens (which is why you may see the odd proxy/unpainted model in photos.) Sid had decided to go for something very bold and experimental, by bringing the same Knights list he's been running for the entirety of Nephilim and brought him to top Knights player in ITC at time of writing with an entirely new twist - a extra warlord trait added to the list. Having played against the list a few times with my CSM armies and not beaten it yet, I wasn't particularly hopeful about the match, especially on Data Scry-Salvage with its spaced-out objectives and plenty of angles for his knights to blast firepower downfield. Knights had the advantage in Speed, Ranged Firepower, objective control and combat against anything that wasn't called Belakor who thanks to needing 4+ to hit and potentially 4+ to wound would struggle to kill a knight, whilst I could shout smite 3 times as my advantage as well as some extra mobility. Fair to say I wasn't confident about this.

Chaos deployment - can't hide enough - Chariot in open at bottom is the Character version.
Knights deployment - some attempts at hiding but they can be much bolder given my relative lack of shooting.
Knights come forward to start picking angles at there Chaos Bretheren. Things start badly when the first Helversion destroys his Chaotic brother through 4+ invul with its first volley.
Melta cannon shot from the top left threatens to hurt the back left knight but Belakor puts its blessing on the Knight to avoid damage.
Given how nasty the opening volley was I jump straight into my box of tricks - the Fiends charge upfield and the Korvax knights phase through the walls and boost there movement to get some early charges. I forget about Banners when deploying so Flamers have to jump sideways to plant a banner.
Belakor advances into midfield, trying to find a spot to launch an assault next turn as Chariot/Beasts prepare to try and secure the left objectives.

Lots of charges - sadly minimal damage on the Imperial side, about 8ish wounds across both Imperial Knights from all 3 Chaos charges in the picture.

Things are at least better on the left as the Beasts dissolve a Imperial Knight
Imperial Knights come again on the left flank.

Most of the Imperial Knights converge on the right and obliterate both Chaos equivilants, my right flank is already in tatters but a couple of fiends hang on.
Going into Chaos turn 2 its already looking rather bleak in terms of attrition.

We discuss if the game even should continue - in the end with loads of time left its a might as well continue. I consider just trying to hide at the back and scoring pretty well on banners to not impact my score too badly. In the end decide I'd rather than a bad loss trying to win and charge forwards again as Bloodletters arrive via Warp Locus to try and damage Imperial Knights primary.

Remaining fiends body block knight on the right to ensure they can't push this turn at least.
A paper thin backfield, as my Tzeetch characters scurry around planting banners.
Virtually no damage on Chaos turn when Belakor fails his charge despite a re-roll and strat to move through walls, Bloodletters at least make theres to disrupt Imperial Knights scoring down to 4 points.

Sadly for there success Bloodletters are destroyed as the Imperial Knights line up there firepower into Belakor - by the end of the turn he's vanished back to the Warp with shots to spare.

Beasts of Nurgle make a desperate play to slow the bleeding, they can't take the objective, but they can stop the mission action for a second turn.
Fiends take out an injured Knight on the right, I was surprised they were still around after there early beating.
Exalted flamer on the top left runs into open and closes's its eyes as it awaits a barrage of shots.

Two really frustrating moments back to back - Knights win the roll off to fall back from Beasts, and kill two Beasts, the last one then runs in morale.

Exalated Flamer takes a beating, but the firepower poured into the Beasts allows it to cling on to life.

Fiends take another charge, when two survive we both realise that despite the horrendous attrition advantage Knights have, the score is very close still.

Turn four is the most passive turn I've ever taken - Fiends block Knights in again, everything else hides so I can jump back out turn 5 to score. The Skull cannon phases and advances through the wall to ensure it won't give up a vital Bring it down point.

Blurry pic of Knights going into there last turn. Fiends are literally only target for them. One Knight uses a strat to get to my objective left of screen to try and deny more points.

The maths starts - I need 15 points to score a tie in the last turn. As we run through the variables I need to kill a knight that was on this objective to draw. The Changecaster managed 8 mortal wounds to destroy the machine
Skull Chariot emerges - score is now tied. I soften the knight up and leave it just in mathmatical range to kill it in combat. If the Cannon makes it and kills the knight I win, if it dies Sid wins.

Final score - 81-81 draw (I didn't charge the Skull Cannon, I couldn't face a loss having scraped so hard to get here)

Postgame thoughts - an absolute classic game, at least for Daemons. About a third of the way through the game Sid suggested we call it there and talk up the score and if the game had been a casual one, I'd have accepted as my army was brutalised to pieces at this stage. As it was, I was left regretting that my last toad ran away, allowing Sid to gain 3 crucial points at the end - although there were plenty of single dice saves made by my Tzeentch characters in the open on the other way that if failed would have given Sid a much-deserved win. As it was scraping every single point and keeping knights boxed in their side for just long enough was fantastic and the draw felt like an unfair result in my favour in the best possible way and I was buzzing afterwards even if the result meant I couldn't win the RTT. The Toads were fantastic, saving my objectives and putting some of the only meaningful pressure on Knights home objective and stopping them scanning it whilst tanking some truly horrific firepower - if they had managed to roll a 4+ to stop knights falling back on one occasion it might have gone even better for them. Looking back was interesting - was overly aggressive at the start (although it did pin knights back) and playing a more cautious game would have been a better option (although I was worried how I was going to do that given the angles and reserve shenanigans that were happening.) One to think about again and again whilst both of us left going - oh if only that had happened!

Game 3 - Death and Zeal v Jakub


My Secondaries - Reality Rebels, No Prisoners, Banners

Opponents Secondaries - Bring it down, RND, Warp Ritual

Pregame Thoughts - Thousand Sons are always scary to play, and I'm always glad I've run them myself so at least aware of most of their tricks. I did have a few big advantages on my side - I had units fast enough to engage them on my terms, had some decent deny options and an easier set of secondaries to score with and had a few units that could threaten the terminator brick if it got too bold. On the downside, they probably had the range advantage, although much less in a post AoC world and they had much better objective control. Still was pretty confident going into this.

Bulk of Chaos Deployment, Belakor doesn't want to take a Terminator Squad's shooting to the phase to hides at back.
Right flank as my quick/disposible stuff prepare to make a pain of themself and sacrifce themself as smite screens should the need arise.
TS deployment with Magnus copying Belakor and hiding at the back not wanting to give away a easy turn one target.
I'd have liked to go second, but ended up going first. Exalted Chariot moves midfield to provide 12 wounds worth of smite shielding, Belakor jumps forward to try and disade terminators fromg etting close and Flamers screen out one side. I didn't think my Changecaster was going to get any spells off so he's hiding behind the wall on the objective at the back.

Nurglings nab the objective as Daemons spread out to deny space for duplicity teleports.
Fiends charge and kill Rubrics hiding behind the wall, but its the only kills Daemons can make turn one. Fiends get 5+Fnp from Tormentbringer on left of shot, camping back outside of TS deny range.
TS start there response as a Warpflamer squad teleports over. I'm confident Nurglings can hold the objective unless the TS make the charge but they manage to roll a perfect 24 shots on there 4 regular flamers and in combination with a smite manage to exactly kill the Nurglings.
Scarabs prepare to unleash a volley into the Fiends who pop -2 to cast strat which TS can't play around easily as Spawn charge into the middle.

The combination of mortals and weight of Fire takes out 4 fiends over the turn, which works somewhat to there advantage as the Scarabs end up failing the charge. The Spawn manage to take out the Chariot to take the middle. One terminator also dies to a Warpstorm-assisted perils which was very nice.
Belakor moves in aggresivly as Knight takes up the Nurglings objective
DoB go in hard with combined arms assault - Beasts destroy there Spawn counterparts and the Knights soften up the Spawn before taking them out. The Beasts did require a CP re-roll to make the charge and the Bloodletters low rolled into the Rubrics.

With Knight on the objective I shoot a skull cannon (out of Shot) into the Rubrics on the left, hoping to just kill one end up killing 4. Just the one would ruin TS ability to contest the objective, as it is they can't do much at all.

Flamers close ranks on there Exalated bretherin to try and ensure its near impossible for the objective to be taken by shooting. With there squad softened up and no match for the Terminators the Fiends try and take out Ahriman and manage a couple of wounds but lose wound and leave the last one on its last wound in response.
Probably a mistake here - when Bloodletters fail there charge I send Belakor into the Rubrics. They weren't realisticly going to contest the objective in a meaninful way (without serious help from the Terminator squad and a low roll from likely Heroicing Beasts into them.) As it is I send Belakor upfield with only a Fiend screening out TS mortals.
Still its a great turn for DoB who inflicted major damage on TS and pinned them back into a corner.
One lone spawn left in the middle for TS as Chaos Knights ensure its DoB objective.
Going into TS turn - can't realisticly play around bieng more than 12 from the fiends so they are going to have to ensure at least the first cast being -2.
TS need to act and Magnus comes out to party.



Tzaangors arrive to RND the quater as another Rubric squad arrives and starts to soften up the Bloodletters.
The last fiend is killed but takes 3/4 spells (and a CP re-roll I think)to take out thanks to its ability to lower casts making my dispel attempts easier, saving Belakor from a potentially huge amount of Mortals

TS can't get into the middle outside of a Tzaangor shaman who completes a Warp Ritual before running away for the third time.
Its time for the head to head clash. Despite the Fiends heroics, Belakor takes 11 damage from TS still - mostly around 8 from a Magnus super smite I couldn't deny even with Khorne's help.
After Magnus's attacks Belakor was on 7 wounds thanks to a solitary prock of 2 mortals, and Belakor blessing himself to avoid the sole failed save. Magnus was glamoured up for -1 to hit, but Belakor rolled perfectly on both hits and wounds to deal 20+ damage back to Magnus, one shotting the primarch.
DoB turn 3 and they start to run rampant. The Knights combine firepower to take out the Tzaangor. Rubrics put up resitance though, as despite the Bloodletters and Knight charging in they roll hot on invuls to avoid casulties.
Flamers and Spawn combine in a brutal display to finish off the Scarabs - Belakor charged in but wasn't even needed to swing as the Beasts did 12ish mortals to the last few Scarabs standing after the Flamers barrage of fire.

Skull cannon keeps chipping away and holds the objective as the Herald starts its journey of teleporting to plant banners down.


TS are pretty much routed at this point, a the Shaman comes in to complete Warp Ritual for some last second points.

The Beasts piled into Ahriman, took 6 wounds in my turn and healed back to full. Ahriman then couldn't do enough mortal for to kill the Beast in his turn so it healed up again.
Rubrics beat back the Bloodletters but can't even contest the objective from the long Wardog.



Exalted Shaman goes danger close to try and take Belakor out, taking the Dark Prince down to 2 wounds after rolling far to many 1's on there D3's. DoB can then murder everything left and game is over.

Final score - 100-39 to Daemons.

Postgame thoughts:

So, Fiends were absolute Hero's this game - technically they only ended up killing a Rubric squad and wounding Ahriman a trivial amount but the amount of tempo and disruption they caused put TS on the backfoot at they were never able to come back into the game. There strats to have casters at -2 to cast is normally something you can play around but that combined with the Warp storm for any doubles to cause Perils just forces TS to continually pour resources into getting rid of them and with their 5+FNP they just ate up the best of what TS could throw at them, and disrupted there second turn with a Fiend on a solitary wound effect allowing me to dispel 3 Mortal wounds before taking a fourth that would have otherwise been aimed at Beleakor (with a much harder time dispelling it.) The Exalted Chariot did a similar job in the middle as well - TS are very good at taking out a single big target, but the sheer number of wounds and resilience against AP2 both Slaanesh units had just cause havoc. By the time Belakor bested Magnus in 1v1 combat, the game was probably already over - chatting about it after we both agreed if Magnus had won the duel (far from impossible) then TS would have probably still struggled to close the gap on the Primary quickly enough and secondaries were heavily DoB favour. As it was Magnus death opened up a landslide of momentum that TS couldn't escape from as Daemons butchered their way through their lines.

As the tournament wound down was able to catch a glimpse of the final of the event - my draw with Sid meant only 2 players were undefeated going into the final round and Denis's Necron's managed to claim victory over Ravi's Dark Angels to claim top spot. I managed to take second and had most battle points for the event which was the first time I'd managed to do that (and score a 100 in an actual played game, secondaries are so much easier in Daemons than CSM) with Sid's knights only 3 points behind in 3rd to round out the 'podium.'

The list itself was a blast to play, still getting used to not YOLO charging up field with CSM for fear of falling behind on secondaries too much and playing a slower tempo game whilst still trying to be the aggressor. Happily, admit I didn't play it to its full potential - there's way too many tricks with Belakor in particular like swapping spells to Nurgle I just don't have enough experience to utilise right yet but was happy with how I played in, in particular clawing out a draw in game 2. As for the units - Belakor is probably the unit I like least, but he's mandatory so debate for him in this type of list rather ends there. I suspect I'll end up slowly switching over to mono-Slaanesh to get more fight phase tricks which I always love to have, but that's a different type of list completely. Favourite units were by far the Fiends and Beasts. Beasts were such a pain for opponents and have some really nice tricks to them that didn't always come up but have the potential to be very swingy. I'm not sure I'd like them outside of DoB, but I'd really want to find points for a second unit (although not a third due to speed concerns.) The fiends were interesting, great tempo unit, didn't do as much damage as I suspected they might. Argument for dropping them into 2 3's and leaning into tempo> damage but that makes the FNP much weaker and gets tougher filling out the 1 of each god slots. Speaking of the Tomentbringer on Seeker Chariot was iffy - it had some nice support options just being a mobile one cost caster but wasn't either tanky enough or killy enough to justify. If I want the cast, I'd be tempted to upgrade to the Tormenter on Exalted Chariot - even with the ability to be shot I'd just like the extra wounds and treat it like an 8th edition Lord Discordant as a durable piece that's nasty when it hits (possibly dropping the Claws if so.)

Bloodletters and Flamers both did great in there roles, Flamers are still great after the nerf, don't worry about them Daemon players especially when Belakor can give them full hit re-rolls. They, and the Exalted Flamer also filled the role as mobile Banners placers which the army desperately needed. Exalted flamer and Skull Cannon both fell into the 'fine, but forgettable category.' Think there needs to be a critical mass of them to really make them work, and they both had moments and were solid in a list that wasn't particularly built to take advantage of their strengths.

Nurglings and Exalted Chariot both did their job and felt very interchangeable - cheap, units to sit on objectives and be a pain to shoot off both with own pros and cons. Not sure they killed more than 2/3 orks between them over the entire event but as tempo pieces that allowed say Beasts to counterattack when they were killed. Would probably be more dictated by which god choice I needed to fill out than a preference between the two, although if forced to choose the Nurglings would probably shade it for screening/obsec chances.

With so few infantry units with Obsec the War Dogs were vital to the list to bully objectives in the mid game, although I wasn't impressed with their combat regularly. I wanted to keep them back and chip away and move onto objectives that were cleared - I want them to feel they can go up field so wouldn't opt for the Executioner with its autocannons but go for a Brigand with its combat arm replaced with a Daemonbreath Spear (melta cannon) to add some anti-tank at range whilst still wanting to be midfield, although the Karnivor does have its own appeal I'd just rather be a different house for them (although moving through terrain/models does have a huge benefit for them, I'd have lost game 2 if Sid could have done this once.) They didn't feel mandatory - I've been impressed by Soul Grinders, but If I didn't have the Warp Dogs and went for Soul Grinders instead, I'd want some more Daemonetts/Bloodletters for obsec. I really like both of the troop options, but I'm scared of Guard mortars for them at the moment, which is a big reason why I've only got the one unit that more often than not is going to start in deep strike.

484 views0 comments
bottom of page